Long weekend long reads

Elephants, IPOs and a profile worthy of a HBO limited series

Hello friends!

I have COVID (finally? It’s a year after my bestie!) and all plans for this week have disappeared into a pit of Law and Order rewatches. It has, however, given me plenty of time to catch up on my Pocket. With a long weekend ahead for many of us, why not compile a big old list of things to read! 

I’m going back to bed. See you next week,Erin Cook

Concern about the treatment of animals in Thailand has deepened during the pandemic. If more tourists was bad for animals, it seems that fewer could be even worse: The collapse of tourism, now entering its third year, has plunged many elephant camps and owners into crisis. For many of the elephants, which obviously have no say in the matter, their reality has gone from being ridden and overworked to the possibility of sickness and starvation.

Thailand’s tourism industry throughout the pandemic has been something I’ve been personally super interested in, but this take is a whole other level! This story cites the amazing stat that 75 percent of elephants ‘working’ in the tourism industry in the region are based in Thailand and those animals, and their owners, have had strange two years. 

“The monks in Buddhism are very powerful,” Vothnak says. “If I return back as an educated monk, they worry we will teach about history or politics. If I return back after having left the monkhood, they do not worry much—but they will not let us live well. Maybe they will only let us work in factories.”

Loved this fascinating one on Khmer Krom (that is, ethnically Khmer) Buddhist monks in southern Vietnam moving to Cambodia to pursue deeper education. Many monks choose to stay in Cambodia rather than return home where fears of political crackdowns persist and the Khmer Krom culture attracts ethnic tensions.

Inside Year Zero (Mekong Review)

Other entries note his refusal to cooperate: ‘Tomorrow there is a meeting. Everyone, old or young, will be taken to work in the rice fields … I am among them, but I refused to go and am even willing to die right here.’ It was a risky strategy to employ, as Angkar did not broker dissent, killing people for such acts of resistance. The acts Na Tao Ky describes are in direct conflict with the regime, as one Khmer Rouge saying warns: ‘If you dare say anything, comrade, you must take full responsibility for your own words.’

As Charles Fox writes, diaries from the Khmer Rouge era are rare and most are kept at the  Documentation Center of Cambodia. This peek into a diary owned by the family of Fox’s friend is a rare and stunning first-hand look at the horrors. 

"I agree that the economy has been too centralized in Java and Jakarta," Baswedan said, but argued that the reason for the economic bias toward Jakarta was because Indonesia had "not given equal opportunities" across the country for developing both hard and soft infrastructure. While Widodo has built hard infrastructure like roads and bridges across the archipelago in his almost eight years as leader, observers have argued that not enough progress has been made on education and developing human capital.

Yes! Finally! Jakarta Governor Anies Baswedan with a point possibly so obvious it hasn’t been said explicitly: move the administrative centre if you like, sure, but Jakarta is going to be hard to replace. This is an interesting profile focusing a lot on his love of education, but if you’re looking for some juicy goss on 2024 — either prez or governor! — he’s not ready to spill yet.

Described by farmers as a “sea of rats,” the vermin chew through at least 20 percent of the country’s annual rice harvest, placing added stress on household finances and food security in what is already one of Southeast Asia’s poorest nations. According to the United Nations World Food Programme, one in five Laotians were already experiencing food insecurity even before the COVID-19 pandemic, while one in three children is chronically malnourished.

This is an interesting report on a programme between Monash University and the National University of Laos to control rats in the country’s rice fields. It also has a photo of an enormous pile of rat tails which I did not quite understand at first and stared at for too long and am now traumatised. 

I don’t want to give anything away, go in blind and be blown away. 

“Monks committing crimes is often reported in Thai media outlets, but it isn’t a recent social trend,” Katewadee Kulabkaew, a Thai Buddhism politics scholar and former visiting fellow at Singapore’s Institute of Southeast Asian Studies, told VICE World News. “This problem has chronically plagued Thai Sangha [the Buddhist monastic order] for decades.” 

I love a monks behaving badly story but yeesh is this bad. Writer Koh Ewe has collated a few of the more revolting crimes committed by monks in Thailand in recent years which has prompted renewed calls for reform in the ranks. 

By the time Anna arrived in Germany, the journey was taking its toll on her. She posted pictures to her Facebook of her sipping bubble tea outside Berlin cathedral but other posts betrayed her fears.

“I’m in such a difficult situation,” she wrote. “I don’t want mum to worry about me, I wander about here in a mess I created, helpless every day.”

Prophetically, she ended the post: “I’m about to suffocate in this atmosphere.”

It’s been more than two years since 39 Vietnamese nationals were discovered dead in the back of a truck in Essex, UK. The story was shocking and led to some fantastic reporting from both Vietnam and the UK on the fate of migrant workers and the push factors that lead to young Vietnamese people making the trek across the world. The Times kept digging with this fascinating investigation, which tracks the journey many of the dead made. 

I felt that I wouldn’t have a clean conscience when explaining to the future generation about this revolution if I didn’t take part in it.

When I left home that day in late February, my two aunts in their 60's and my children prayed for me to return home safely. But they didn’t stop me from going, they accepted that it was my job and I had to do it. They didn’t say it, but I knew they had considered and accepted the worst possible scenario.

As we drove through side streets to avoid the blockades, elderly people came out of their houses and stopped our cars to tell us they had been praying for our safety.  I tried not to cry in public, but I couldn’t stop myself.

The Kite Tales is a remarkable website that has logged stories of resilience from across Myanmar well before last year’s coup. This ‘coup diaries’ from an unidentified writer now living abroad is one of my favourite pieces I’ve stumbled across yet. Simply written, yet deeply emotional it’s a piece that clarifies the reality of living under and resisting the coup. 

“GoTo is Indonesia’s face,” Vendy Sutedjo, former equity analyst at BNI Asset Management, told Rest of World. “It has to be successful.”

Like any repatriate, I dream of GoJek every day. What I wouldn’t give order an ‘enormous ice Americano’ via GoFood than make my own sad cold brew each night. This kind of lazy-girl thinking is why I always figured GoTo, the amalgamation of GoJek and e-commerce giant Tokopedia, would be a sure-fire win. The long-awaited IPO hasn’t quite turned out that way.

Reply

or to participate.