Let's Help Central Sulawesi!

Hi everyone,

I think we all know what this is about. As of right now it’s still really difficult to know the extent of the damage in Central Sulawesi and just how high the death toll will climb. Vice President Jusuf Kalla warned everyone over the weekend that we could be looking at thousands dead. In a press conference this afternoon the National Disaster Mitigation Agency’s spokesman Pak Sutopo Purwo Nugroho has warned individual sites are expected to have hundreds dead alone. The footage we’ve seen so far has collapsed my heart into my stomach, it’s just unbelievable.

Indonesia has a super robust civil society which is, sadly, really used to mobilising donation drives for natural disasters. Elsewhere in the world appeals have gone live over the last day or two.

I am cash poor, but I think we can help each other out here. If you’re getting this it’s because you are on a basic DMKM subscription. Below I have compiled a (completely non-exhaustive) list of NGOs based where most of our readers are. How about a minimum AUD$20 or equivalent donation to any drive/appeal will get you three months premium subscription. If you donate more than that we can do six months or a year. I don’t know, we’ll work it out.

These are just suggestions, of course. Doesn’t really worry me who you send your money to just as long as you do it! Take a screenshot of the receipt and reply email to me and I’ll sort it out on this end.

Okay, let’s get donating!

Reply

or to participate.